# What happens to my current users when I am updating my published app During an update review, your existing published app and users will not be affected. Your changes will take affect in the **Development Environment** of your app. Once you submit the update request and it is approved, then your **Production Environment** will be updated with the changes. Users will receive an email notifying them that there is an update, which they can click on to install / authorize the update if there is a scope change. If the users do not to update your app, it will still function, they just will not have access to the new features / scopes of your app.